Robert Rose Oregon

The Oregon State Beavers football team represents Oregon State University in NCAA Division I-A college football. The team first fielded an organized football team in 1893[1] and is currently a member of the Pacific-12 Conference. The head coach is Mike Riley, with Danny Langsdorf as the offensive coordinator and Mark Banker as the defensive coordinator. Their home games are played at Reser Stadium in Corvallis, Oregon.

Football at Oregon State started in 1893 shortly after athletics were initially authorized at the college. Athletics were banned at prior May 1892, but when the strict school president Benjamin Arnold died, President John Bloss reversed the ban.[2] Blosss son William started the first team, on which he served as both coach and quarterback.[3] The teams first game was an easy 63-0 defeat over the home team, Albany College.

Oregon State has been in several athletic conferences. These include the Northwest Intercollegiate Association (1902–1914),[4] the Pacific Coast Conference (1915–1958),[5] Pac-8 conference (1964-1978), The Pac-10 Conference (1978-2011), and the Pacific-12 Conference (2011–present). Prior to 1902, and in-between the Pacific Coast and Pacific-12 conferences, Oregon State played as an independent school.

The two other Pacific Northwest Pac-12 schools are also rivals. The Washington Huskies and the Washington State Cougars are within driving distance of Corvallis, so a large number of the road teams fans typically travel to each game. The Beavers have been playing the Huskies since 1897 and the Cougars since 1903. It is notable that the Oregon State-Washington rivalry predates the first Apple Cup and Oregon-Washington games, which were initiated in 1900.

The rivalry between the four Pacific Northwest Pac-12 schools is occasionally called the "Northwest Championship". Former Washington Huskies coach Rick Neuheisel coined the phrase to describe the four-team competition during the 2002 season. Since 2002, Oregon State has won the "Northwest Championship" two times (2004, 2007) by beating all three of its rivals in the same season.

Oregon State has played in 16 postseason bowl games.[8] The Beavers have also played in the Mirage Bowl, but this was a regular season game and a "bowl" in name only, not a post-season invitational bowl game.[9] The 16 bowl game total does not include an invitation to play in the Gotham Bowl in 1960, when no opponent could be found for Oregon State.[10] The Beavers are 10–6 in bowl game appearances.

Oregon State has had 42 All-Americans in the history of the program as of the end of the 2011-12 season.[12]

Radio flagship: KEX 1190 AM in Portland Broadcasters: Mike Parker (play-by-play), Jim Wilson (analyst), and Ron Callan (sideline reporter). Oregon State also has an extensive network of broadcast affiliates.